The occasional vegan

Image

I give a ton of credit to all of you vegans in this world.  It is NOT easy!  Especially when you have family and friends who are meat and potato lovers.  Personally, I could care less for meat.  I never crave meat and don’t even love it when I eat it (unless it is prepared by my husband who is an exceptional cook).  Dairy is a little more of a challenge for me.  I don’t think I could ever cut the occasional ice cream out of my life, nor do I want to.  I rarely have it but when I do, it is always worth it.  Besides for that though, it is not common for me to eat dairy.  Going out to eat isn’t the easiest but it is absolutley manageable as a vegan.  You can always get a salad with nuts or protobello mushrooms on top if they don’t have a tastier vegan option.  The most challenging aspect for me is dinner at home. I don’t want to alter my husbands diet and really do truly enjoy the food he cooks.  I had to come up with a way to not feel like I was forcing a lifestyle on him and also for me to not feel deprived while he was cooking up these delicious protein packed meals.  However, I want to feel good about what I am putting in my body and feel like my healthiest self.  I made a promise to myself that I would seriously cut back on meat and dairy and came up with the best way for me.  I decided the easiest way to do this is to take baby steps.  It started with only eating vegan before dinner everyday.  That was VERY easy.  I then decided, in addition to eating vegan before dinner, I also have 2 days a week where I only eat vegan all day long.  Once I started with this, I realized that there are many more days where I eat completely vegan and don’t even realize it.  This change has really made me feel so much better.  I have MUCH more energy all day long!  It also has made me more adventurous in the kitchen.  I have been whipping up some great vegan dishes with veggies and seeds that I have never experimented with in the past.  Everyone has to find the diet that works best for them.  For me, incorporating a few different eating habits based off of several diets have worked best for me.  The occasional vegan has been the best habit I have adopted yet.  

 

Leave me a comment with what works best for you and if anyone else is an occasional vegan.  

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The occasional vegan

  1. Ani says:

    I guess now I am the occasional vegan too haha I am a vegetarian that is transitioning vegan 🙂 I ate vegan twice a week and plan on increasing this until I can cut out all animal byproducts. The hardest for me is cottage cheese and greek yogurt!

    • casualliving says:

      That’s awesome! I had such a hard time cutting out greek yogurt too but haven’t had it for about 6 months. Can’t say I don’t miss it though haha Good luck on your transition!

  2. Husband Chris says:

    Dear Ocassional Vegan:

    I cannot eat another portobello mushroom!

    Otherwise…I guess that makes me the “perpetual meat eater”. Living with the “occasional vegan” isn’t always easy but I think it is important to be open to new ideas and other lifestyles. I think one of the things that works for us is that I am the primary cook in the house. A few nights off a week is really nice and I am usually pleasantly surprised. Lindsey will also make me a side dish of wonderful flesh if she is worried about a new dish. In a worst case pizza is always a phone call away. With open minds, honesty and negotiation it works for us. Any other couples out there trying to satisfy two diets? What works for you?

Leave a Reply

