Holiday Eating

Image

With the holidays quickly approaching, I am hitting the gym more often and trying to keep it pretty strict with my eating since I know the next few months will be difficult to keep those extra pounds off.  Not only will there will be sweets, bulk food and delicious cocktails all around but it becomes very busy and makes it harder to go to the gym.  

My husband and I split time between our families for thanksgiving.  We go to his parents for lunch and then spend the evening with my family,  I get hit with two HUGE meals in one day.  Both of our families know how to cook so I am always tempted to just lose all control BUT I try my hardest to not over indulge.  A few things that I do so I don’t overeat is start with a salad.  I try to fill up on this so that when the main meal is being served I don’t go over board.  Once the main meal is served, I fill up my plate with a little portion of everything and never go in for seconds.  In between meals I usually don’t snack since I want to leave room (and calories) for dinner.  I also only have a few glasses of wine with dinner.  I have been doing this for the past two years and I seem to not have that after thanksgiving tired/full feeling like usual.  I still get to eat everything I want without feeling sick after and I also feel okay when I am shopping the next day 🙂 (sidenote: black friday is my favorite holiday –and yes it is a holiday).  

 

I am planning on making a quinoa salad this year for my dinner in hopes that some family members will choose thing over stuffing!  

Quinoa Butternut Salad 

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups of Quinoa 
  • One butternut squash (roasted adn seasoned with salt and pepper)
  • 2 cups of Kale (roasted and seasoned with salt and pepper)
  • 1/3 Cup of unsweetened cranberries 

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together and serve either hot of cold.  You can also mix in some garlic.  Enjoy : ) 

 

What are your holiday eating tips?  I am always excited to hear other family traditions and tips for keeping fit during this time of year.  

 

The picture above is my dog Frankie from a few years ago on Christmas.  Not relevant but adorable.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

