The Persistent Sweet Tooth

413783_10100654476700430_1539578527_o

I seem to have a sweet craving everyday lately.  Especially now that it is the holidays and there are sugar cookies, gingerbread cakes, all the delicious Starbucks beverages, pumpkin flavored ice-cream, dark chocolate bark–and the list can keep going!  Are you hungry yet?  I am, and once again, craving those sweets.  What do you do when you have that persistent craving whether it be sweets or salt?

I believe that if you have a craving, you need to satisfy it but only if this craving is every so often.  For me, I have been wanting the wrong things everyday and that is not a habit that should be honored and satisfied.  I like to treat myself to a sweet once a week to keep me in check. That doesn’t mean I go haywire and eat a whole cake but rather I take a cup of ice cream or a slice of cake.  What about those other 7 days?

Some foods that help alleviate that craving for me are naturally sweet foods such as any type of fruit but in particular apples.  I love the satisfying feeling an apple has because it takes a long time to eat.  I also will have a cup herbal fruity tea (Tazo Passion Tea is delicious).  If my craving just won’t go away, I will have one small piece of dark chocolate which is the better choice than any milk chocolate products.  I also cook up delicious banana cookies every week and bring some to work individually wrapped which helps with portion control.

Does anyone have any other tips that could help with the persistent sweet tooth?

Here is one recipe that helps me with my sweet cravings.

Banana Baked Cookies (yields about 12 small cookies)

1 cup of oatmeal

1/4 cup of almond meal

1/3 cup of protein powder (chocolate or vanilla)

2 tablespoons of carob chips

1 tablespoon of unsweetened coconut flakes

2 Ripe Bananas

1/2 cup of almond milk

1 tablespoon of cinnamon

1 tablespoon of almond butter

Directions:

1.  Mix with an immersion blender the banana, milk and almond butter.

2. Combine all dry ingredients in a separate bowl.

3. Mix the wet and dry ingredients together.

4. Pour mixture into a pan that has been lightly coated with coconut oil.

5. Bake for 25 minutes.

6. Let cool, cut in small pieces, enjoy 🙂

 

**The picture above was from sweet tooth heaven!  My husband took our honeymoon this past December to Europe.  While we were in Paris we stopped into Laduree and spent some time tasting macaroons.**

This entry was posted in Fitness, lifestyle, Vegan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Persistent Sweet Tooth

  1. sugarlychee says:

    Banana baked cookies 🙂 hmmmm…yum!

Leave a Reply

