Soup Weather

The days are shorter and the weather is very chilly in the Northeast.  This time of year, all I want to do is snuggle up under the covers at night with some type of warm beverage or food.  I am not always a huge soup fan but something about this time of year that makes me crave it everyday.  I have become much more comfortable in the kitchen lately and for me soup is always the easiest choice.  Since I try to eat mostly a plant based diet, cooking a soup is fairly easy and pretty satisfying as a dinner.  I don’t have a great sense of what spices to use in different dishes which has always steered me away from making soups.  I never know if I put too much salt or not enough pepper or if maybe I needed some spicy element to the base of the broth but I seem to get the thumbs up at dinner much more than I used to.  I must be doing something right!  Last weekend I made a tomato vegetable soup that was absolutely delicious and super easy.  It was enough for dinner and then a few lunches during the week as well.  I used some tips from other recipes to create my own rendition with the vegetables that I like and am used to eating in my daily diet.  Do you have any soup recipes to share or any tips on how to make a great soup?

Here is my Healthy Tomato Vegetable Soup recipe4728831413_80b8554acb_z

14 Ounces Canned Diced Tomatoes

3/4 Cup Low Sodium Vegetable Broth

1 Cup Frozen Spinach

1 Cup Mixed Frozen Vegetables (whichever you like!)

4 Carrots Cups and Peeled

3 Sweet Potatoes Cut and Peeled

1 White Onion Chopped

1 Garlic Clove Chopped Finely

Salt and Pepper to taste

1 Tablespoon Oregano

Directions:

1.Heat the onions with vegetable for a few minutes.

2. Pour in the tomoto broth and all the vegteables.

3. Bring to boil and then let simmer for an hour.

 

This entry was posted in Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Soup Weather

Leave a Reply

