Healthy Hosting

9555730938_1f15937d14_b

When hosting a holiday party, people expect a lot of very indulgent food and drinks.  I believe in moderation.  I obviously make sure to have food around that suits everyone’s preference but as a very health conscious person I can’t possibly not have an abundance of healthy ‘treats ‘ as well.  I also find it extremely hard to cook with butter and sugar.  I tend to make some modifications and then it turns out horrible.  This year, my husband and I are hosting a new years party.  We decided on a theme of ‘indulgence and inhibition’.  We asked all of our guests to make two dishes, one to satisfy the guests who are watching their calories and another to satisfy everyone else (which is the majority especially on New Years).  I can’t wait to see what everyone is going to bring but in the meantime I have been going through recipe after recipe trying to decide which healthy treat and healthy drink I should make for the night.  I want to make something that everyone will enjoy and maybe even choose to eat over the indulgent table.  Here are some of the ideas I am thinking of:

  • Chocolate Dipped Fruit
  • Roasted Veggie and Quinoa Salad
  • Banana Carob Bars

As far as drinks, I will most likely just get a bunch of red wine and possibly make a winter sangria.  I would love some more suggestions!  What do you think of this idea?

This entry was posted in lifestyle, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

